The 7 Active NBA Players Who Are All-Star Game MVP’s


Note* The players shown are represented by the teams they were currently on when they won the All-Star MVP.

Only seven active NBA players have been named MVP of the NBA All Star Game. Even though the game is considered meaningless to some, being named MVP of it brings a lot of prestige with it. I will let you know just how great these few players are. Even though they aren’t in the hall of fame yet, they most likely will be.

Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs, 2000 All Star Game MVP

Tim Duncan was the number one pick in the 1997 NBA Draft by the Spurs where he has played his entire and very successful career. He is a four time NBA champion a three time Finals MVP and a two time league MVP. He was a part of the 2004 Olympic team that won the bronze medal. Duncan has scored 24,547 career points.

Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers, All Star Game MVP in 2002, 2007, 2009 and 2011

Kobe Bryant has had one of the greatest careers in sports history. He won the 1997 Slam Dunk contest and is a five time NBA champion. He was the Finals MVP for two of those runs. He won gold in the 2008 and 2012 Olympic games. We will see how many points he will be able to add to the 31,700 he already has.

Lebron James, Miami Heat, All Star Game MVP in 2006 and 2008

Since being drafted number one overall out of high school in 2003, Lebron James has become one of the greatest players in league history. In only his eleventh season, the four time league MVP has already scored 22,405 career points. He has also taken home the 2004 Rookie of the Year award, two NBA Finals MVP awards and three Olympic medals. This is Lebron’s tenth career all star game.

Kevin Garnett, Brooklyn Nets, 2003 All Star Game MVP

Kevin Garnett was the first high school player in 20 years. Garnett is a 15 time All Star, an Olympic gold medalist in 2000, a MVP award in 2004 and a 2008 NBA champion when he was part of the Boston Celtics. He has scored 25,582 career points.

Dwyane Wade, Miami Heat, 2010 All Star Game MVP

Like his teammate Lebron James, Dwyane Wade is also appearing in his tenth career All Star Game. Wade has won three NBA titles, two with Lebron and one in 2006 when he was named Finals MVP. He won a bronze in the 2004 Olympics and a gold in 2008. Wade has 17,127 career points and was drafted fifth overall in 2003.

Chris Paul, Los Angeles Clippers, 2013 All Star Game MVP

Chris Paul is one of the best passers in the game. He was drafted by the New Orleans Hornets fourth overall in 2005. He won the 2006 Rookie of the Year award. The seven time All Star has scored 11,003 career points and won gold medals in 2008 and 2012.

Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder, 2012 All Star Game MVP

Kevin Durant has only been in the league since 2007 and he has already scored 13,957 career points. He won the 2008 Rookie of the Year award after being drafted second overall by the Seattle Supersonics the year before. The five time All Star was a major force in 2012 when USA won Olympic gold.

You can follow Thomas Frey on Twitter: @ThomasFreyRP

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterGoogle+Share on RedditShare on StumbleUpon

Leave a Reply